playing hostess

I’ve had a lovely weekend.  My dad and stepmom drove up here from Wichita to stay with us.  I spent all day Friday preparing our home for guests–washing linens, tidying up the living room, putting up a few more Christmas decorations.  And baking a rum Bundt cake with a pecan streusel filling.  Unfortunately, the cake fell apart when I was flipping it out of the pan, but I was able to patch it back together and cover it up with glaze and a sprinkling of pecans.  It wasn’t very pretty, but in the end I think there was too much rum in the cake for anyone to care what it looked like.  🙂

The rest of our weekend was spent playing gin and scopa and crazy eights, eating pub food, browsing the shops downtown, watching Stardust, and drinking lots of tea & coffee. We spent a lot of time around the kitchen table, which is becoming just about my favorite spot in this whole house.

The cat was the only one who didn’t have such a nice weekend.  She doesn’t like strangers, and so she spent most of the weekend under the bed (plus a nap behind the suitcases in my closet).  Poor cat!  I’ll just have to give her some extra cuddles this afternoon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

