let your heart be light

Sitting down to enjoy a quiet moment, and I thought I’d write to wish everyone a merry Christmas.

Yesterday it looked like a bomb had gone off in my kitchen.  Which I guess is fitting, since my stand mixer almost exploded while I was making the panettone.  I’ve had the thing (a Sunbeam Mixmaster–don’t ever buy one of those!) since 2007 (I think? or maybe it was 2008), and I’ve only used it one other time.  I’d forgotten how much the thing rattles and shakes.  Fortunately, the panettone came out beautifully, but I don’t think I’ll be taking my chances with that mixer again next year.  I’ll just have to save my pennies for a KitchenAid.

Today I finished putting together the Christmas baskets, including the sugar-and-spice candied nuts I made this morning.  I even scraped together enough energy to test out the ceramic shortbread pan I bought at Brits the other day.  The little wedges are decorated with Scottish thistles–so lovely.

After dinner (from Pizza Hut–because I’ve spent too much time in the kitchen these past few weeks), I convinced Flavio it would be a good idea to open our presents to each other tonight, so that we wouldn’t be so rushed tomorrow before we leave for Wichita.  And now I’m sitting here in the middle of Christmas viscera, surrounded by shiny bows and shreds of paper (and a couple of half-eaten ribbons, courtesy of the cat).  Drinking a hot cup of tea to soothe my scratchy throat, before I take up my nice new hard-bound copy of A Christmas Carol and read the second stave.

Have yourself a merry little Christmas, and a new year filled with hope and love.  ❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

