sunday notes.

I woke up to rain and a lot of gusty wind this morning.  It was 6:30, and the crazy train had made a full stop at Cat Station.  She loves to chase il fantasma formaggino around the house.  I sewed the buttons onto a little sweater I knitted, and then Zoe crashed my photo shoot.  Normally she’s camera-shy, but I guess today she was transfixed by the open window blinds.

She disappears around breakfast-time.  We always make eggs on Sunday.  Usually scrambled, but sometimes baked in ramekins or fried in a slice of bread.  I’ve been craving toast with raspberry jam lately.  This grapefruit juice is terrible–I bought it after having some fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice that was so pink and fruity and sweet.  This is orange and sour and even slightly bitter.  Have learned my lesson, will not buy again.

I spent the rest of my morning flipping through three and a half years of back issues of Cook’s Country.  Friday I made the black & white cookies from the latest issue, and it sort of reignited my passion for trying new baking recipes & techniques.  Cook’s Country has the most reliable baking recipes I’ve ever seen–which naturally comes from their recipe development process.  I love their regional and “lost” recipes.  My 2012 baking to-do list includes fairy gingerbread, cafe au lait angel food cake, strawberry dream cake, chocolate-almond pudding, and a raspberry-white chocolate bombe.  Don’t those all sound lovely?

And now I’ll leave you with a very simple recipe for a very simple soup.

Blink and You’ll Miss It Potato-Broccoli Soup

(This is a variation on the soup recipes in Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution cookbook.)

serves 2-3

  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 1 large or 2 small stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 3 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 russet potatoes, peeled & cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 1 small head of broccoli, chopped
  • 4 oz. extra-sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • salt, pepper, & olive oil

Heat 1-2 tbsp. olive oil in a dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add onion, carrot, celery, and garlic and cook with the lid half-on, stirring occasionally, until softened–about 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, bring chicken broth to a boil in a separate pot.  Add boiling broth to the softened vegetables.  Add potatoes and broccoli, and return to a boil.  Lower heat, cover, and let cook for 10 minutes.  Turn off heat and add cheddar.  Stir to melt cheese.  Puree soup with an immersion blender.  Season with salt, pepper, and lemon juice.  Can be served plain, or with a dollop of Greek yogurt or sour cream (or creme fraiche, if you’re feeling fancy).

(I call this blink-and-you’ll-miss-it soup because I ran to get my camera while Flavio was eating the leftover soup for lunch, and when I came back 2 seconds later, the soup was half gone.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

