Stuffed Artichokes {ricetta della Mamma}

Late February through early April is probably my favorite time of year.  The drizzly spring rain.  The delicate little buds that start to appear on every tree.  French music lazily dribbling out of my stereo.  But my favorite thing about this time of year is the food.  It seems like lemons, shallots, and fresh herbs find their way into every recipe I make.  And I’m constantly seeking out recipes for the eggs, asparagus, and artichokes that I crave.

When my friend Sara recently posted this recipe for a citrusy tilapia cooked in parchment, I knew I had to make it.  And when we found the beautiful small artichokes of early spring at the grocery store this weekend, it seemed only natural to put the two together.

This recipe is from Flavio’s mother, with a few additions on my part.

Stuffed Artichokes {Carciofi Ripieni}

  • 2 medium-sized artichokes
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 c. flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 tbsp. seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp. grated lemon zest
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • olive oil

Cut off the stem and top quarter of the artichoke.  Rinse well and spread the leaves apart to “open” the artichoke a little bit.  Using a food processor or mezzaluna, mince together the onion, garlic, and parsley to make a paste.  Stir together with breadcrumbs, lemon zest, salt, and pepper.  Stuff filling between most of the artichoke leaves, but be careful not to overstuff.  Set artichokes stem-side down in a steamer basket set over simmering water.  Drizzle tops of artichokes with olive oil, cover, and steam until tender in the middle (about 45 minutes).

Never had a fresh artichoke?  To eat one, snap off the leaves one by one and scrape “meat” off by pulling the leaf between your teeth.  When you get to the center, cut out the hairy choke and eat the tender heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuffed Artichokes {ricetta della Mamma}

  1. I have to say, I’ve never eaten an artichoke that wasn’t already all cut up in something else. I’ll have to give them a go!

    • whitney marie says:

      Oh they’re so good!! I tried them for the first time last spring, with a lemon-chive vinaigrette from Cook’s Illustrated. They’re also delicious roasted over an open flame, which is how my in-laws like to cook them.

Leave a Reply

