maggie rabbit {handcrafted}

My Maggie Rabbit, wearing the dress & shawl patterns included with the bunny pattern. I knitted her shawl with Sublime Baby Cashmere Merino Silk DK in Miss Scarlet.

Do you know Alicia Paulson?  I first heard of her when I saw Stitched in Time at a bookstore several years ago.  Her second book, Embroidery Companion, is my favorite craft book and taught me most of what I know about embroidery and cross-stitch.  She also sells many crafting patterns on her website, including this adorable hand-stitched felt bunny and all of the sewn & knitted clothes to go with it.

the Little Raglan Sweater, made with Brown Sheep Nature Spun Sport in Ash

I made this little rabbit back in March, when Flavio was in California for a tech conference.  I had wanted to buy one of the fabulous kits that Alicia put together with beautiful Liberty of London fabrics, but they sold out in a matter of hours.  So I just bought the PDF pattern, tracked down the really nice felt she used (so much nicer than the craft felt they sell at Hobby Lobby), and used some fabric from my stash.  And you know, I’m really glad I did it this way.  I’ve seen some pictures of the bunnies that other people have made, and – while the ones made from the kits are beautiful – the ones made from stash fabric just seem to have more personality.

the Little Hooded Coat, made with Brown Sheep Nature Spun Sport in Mallard

Anyway, Alicia recently published the first few in a series of Maggie Rabbit wardrobe patterns.  It took me about a week to knit the three little sweaters, and I plan to work on the sewn pants soon.  I did buy some fabric & buttons to sew a couple of the button-down shirts, but after looking at the pattern, I’m not sure my sewing skills are quite there yet.  But I guess I can’t learn if I never try, right?  🙂

the Little Knitted Dress, made with Brown Sheep Nature Spun Sport in Sunburst Gold

xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to maggie rabbit {handcrafted}

  1. Jessica says:

    She is lovely- you did a great job! I saw your photo of her on Instagram, and I just had to read your blog!

    So here’s the awkward part. I really want some knitted things for my Maggie, but I can’t knit. I tried to find someone on Etsy to knit some for me, but nobody will. So I was thinking, since you have already made some and they look absolutely fantastic, that I would ask you, a total stranger, if you would make some for me. I’ll pay you, I have the patterns, and the yarn. I’ll pay for shipping back and forth. And I’ll make you some pants and some button up shirts because I’m really good at sewing tiny things.

    So if I haven’t creeped you out, would you think about it and get back to me?

    Thank you so much!

    • whitney marie says:

      Hey, this is an awesome idea! You don’t have to pay me, though (I think it would violate Alicia’s copyright agreement, anyway). How about you ship me your yarn for the sweaters, and I’ll ship you my fabric & buttons for shirts & pants, and then we can ship the finished pieces back to each other?

Leave a Reply

