reine {FO}

Last week, I finished knitting a sweater.  I’m so proud of it, so happy with how it turned out.  And can we all please just pretend like this is the first sweater I’ve ever made for myself?  Can we please forget about the purple-and-gray variegated knitted-tape yarn t-shirt sweater monstrosity that I made back in college?  Ok, good.  So, presenting…my first sweater!

Reine, by Alexis Winslow, using Brooklyn Tweed Loft in Woodsmoke

I used the recommended yarn (Brooklyn Tweed Loft) and followed the pattern to the letter.  I decided not to make the pockets, though, because I wasn’t confident that I could sew them on perfectly or that the extra weight would be very flattering on my hips.  I love this yarn knitted at this gauge…it really lives up to the name Loft, so light and airy.  Alexis Winslow, you are a genius.

beautiful reverse stockinette stripes trim the hem and sleeves

Because I omitted the pockets, I had a full skein of Loft leftover.  I’m knitting a quick hat, Norby by Gudrun Johnston.  I think it’ll be the perfect thing to wear while raking ALL THE LEAVES this fall (because there’s seriously a mini forest in my backyard…3 trees in our yard, plus 3 or 4 neighboring trees that hang over the fence).

I’m not sure what inspired it, but lately I’ve been pulled back into this world of knitting, and I’m amazed by how much it has changed just in the last couple of years.  There are so many more 100% American-made yarns available.  So many more patterns that are really designed to be worn, with great attention paid to proportions, current tastes, and timeless details that will last past the current season — afterall, if you’re going to spend $100 and a month of your life knitting a sweater, you want it to be something you’ll wear forever, right?  When I first started knitting 11 years ago, most of the sweater patterns I came across were boxy, weirdly short, and incorporated novelty yarns.  They looked homemade, and not in a good way.  Not that it mattered much, because it was so rare to find a pattern that was available in my size.  I think that is, for me, the greatest thing about this new knitting pattern landscape — designers who take the time and effort to expand their size range.

I’m already dreaming about which sweater I’ll cast on for next.  My short list:

  • Benedetta, by Carrie Bostick Hoge, using Brooklyn Tweed Loft in Cast Iron or Long Johns.  Another great goes-with-everything cardigan.
  • Sister Olga, by Olga Buraya-Kefelian, using Quince & Co. Lark in Kumlian’s Gull or Fjord.  I’ve heard such great things about Quince & Co. yarns, and I’m eager to try them.  This sweater looks like the perfect thing to wear out to breakfast on chilly autumn weekends.  I can almost smell the pancakes & warm maple syrup.
  • Strokkur, by Ysolda Teague, using…???  I’m not a big fan of Icelandic wool (is this knitting heresy?), so I want to make this in a fabric that I would want to wear every single day.  Maybe Quince & Co. Osprey in Peacoat with Egret & Winesap?
  • Dresden, by Kirsten Johnstone, using Brooklyn Tweed Loft in Cast Iron or Meteorite.  I love the idea of adding a vest to my wardrobe, and a knitted one would be even better.
  • Trillium, by Michele Wang, using Brooklyn Tweed Shelter in Plume.  A simple cardigan from the latest Brooklyn Tweed collection.  I wouldn’t change a single thing about this sweater, including the color.  But dang, it takes a lot of yarn.

What do you think?  Which sweater should I knit next?

xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

